Design Project - Thought Controlled Wheelchair

For my fourth year design project during my ECE undergrad, I wanted to build a thought-controlled wheelchair. With the help of 4 other electrical and computer engineers, we were able to successfully build a functional prototype over 8 months (4A and 4B terms). For additional nerdy details on how we did it, head on over to our website dedicated to the project: Video of the final working prototype presented at symposium:

All development pictures can be found on this Flickr Photo Set.
Final demonstration videos can be found on this Vimeo Album.

The design project report provides additional details about the thought-controlled wheelchair:

Design Project Symposium

The functional prototype was presented at the 2011 ECE Design Project Symposium and we came in first place, winning the annual Infusion Design Cup Challenge. A summary of the full press release:

The winning prize was awarded to “Controlling Wheelchair Motion with EEG” which offered a solution to an age old problem of providing the freedom of movement to individuals who suffer from significant loss of motor control i.e. paralysis from the neck down. The group designed a electroencephalography (EEG) headset to sense brainwave activities, modify them and send them to an embedded controller connected to the actuators mounted on the wheelchair, allowing the user to “think” about moving in a particular direction and moving instead of having to physically move the wheelchair. The main advantage of this revolutionary design over major alternatives is that physical size, strength or mobility are not required to control the wheelchair. The team received a cheque for $2000 for developing and presenting the best overall design project.

A poster was prepared for the symposium booth to summarize the projects key components:

Team Members

1. Safwan Choudhury, BASc ’11 (Electrical Engineering with Mechatronics Option)
2. Jeff Tran, BASc ’11 (Electrical Engineering)
3. Calvin Ng, BASc ’11 (Electrical Engineering)
4. Jessica Woo, BASc ’11 (Computer Engineering)
5. Edmund Lo, BASc ’11 (Computer Engineering)